Legislative Committee

Twenty-four elected director area representatives and WSSDA’s president-elect review and recommend updates to WSSDA’s legislative positions subject to approval by WSSDA members at the annual General Assembly. This group typically meets six times per year either in-person, virtually, or in conjunction with WSSDA events. Additional meetings may be called at the discretion of the committee chair with most of those being held virtually.

Committee Roster

Members/EmailDirector AreaSchool DistrictTerm Expires
Carl Cary1Granite Falls2024
Carin Chase1Edmonds2025
Luckisha Phillips
2Federal Way2024
Avanti Bergquist2Renton2024
Dave Larson2Tukwila2025
Sara Betnel2Shoreline2025
Ronda S. Litzenberger3Eatonville2024
Marisa Peloquin
Vice Chair
3University Place2025
Denise Tracy4Central Kitsap2024
Karen Bolton4Bremerton2025
Kelsi Hamilton5Chehalis2024
Rebecca Stillings 5Rainier2025
Trish Huddleston6Woodland2024
Sandra Zavala-Ortega6Vancouver2025
Paul Hill7Moses Lake2024
Miranda Skalisky7Wenatchee2024
Martha Rice8Yakima2024
Marcie Carrell8Naches Valley2024
Cindy McMullen9Central Valley 2024
Nikki Lockwood9Spokane2025
Wendy Williams-Gilbert10Medical Lake2024
Rick Jansons11Richland2024
Kathy Mulkerin11Walla Walla2025
Melissa Beard
WSSDA Board Liaison

WSSDA Board Liaison

Melissa Beard, Vice President
Tumwater – DA 5

Committee Support

WSSDA Strategic Advocacy branch supports this committee.